§ Claim under review · Fact
"AMD stock, added to Mark Institute's watchlist on 9 October 2025 at $232.89, has gained +97.35% since that watchlist entry." (Post caption: "One of our watchlist stocks is up +97.35% since we added it. But the interesting part isn't the return. It's the thesis we saw before the market fully priced it in.")
Verdict
Partially accurate but misleading
Confidence
MediumSummary
This post says a stock on its watchlist, AMD, is up 97.35% since being added on 9 October 2025 at $232.89. The size of the move is broadly real: AMD closed at $456.16 on 3 September 2026 and $477.57 on 4 September 2026, which works out to roughly 96% to 105% above that entry price. The problems are in the framing. The exact 97.35% figure carries no date and does not match either closing price near the post's publication, and AMD has already been higher, reaching a 52-week high of $584.73 on 30 June 2026 before pulling back. The claimed entry date also falls three days after OpenAI's chip deal with AMD was announced and after a week in which the stock had already risen 43%, which sits awkwardly with the caption's claim of seeing the thesis before the market priced it in. It is a single selected pick shown without the rest of the watchlist, without a benchmark, and without evidence that any money was actually invested at that price, so it does not establish a track record. Whether the watchlist entry was really logged on that date cannot be checked independently, because the only evidence is a screenshot made by the party making the claim. General information only, not financial advice.
The readings
key figures from the evidenceclaimed AMD gain from $232.89 watchlist entry
AMD close, 3 September 2026, implies +95.9% vs entry
AMD close, 4 September 2026, implies +105.1% vs entry
Why this verdict
Evidence
The underlying price move in AMD is real and large. CNBC's quote page records a previous close of $456.16, a 52-week high of $584.73 set on 30 June 2026 and a 52-week low of $149.22 set on 8 September 2025 . Macrotrends records the latest AMD closing price as $477.57 as of 4 September 2026, with an all-time closing high of $580.91 on 30 June 2026 . Yahoo Finance showed AMD at $476.25 at the 4 September 2026 close . StockAnalysis noted AMD had pulled back over recent months from a June high toward roughly $456 .
Arithmetic against the claimed entry price: from $232.89, a gain of 97.35% implies a price of about $459.61. The 3 September 2026 close of $456.16 gives +95.9%; the 4 September 2026 close of $477.57 gives +105.1%. So the exact figure quoted is not reproducible from either closing price adjacent to the post's publication date, though it sits inside the intraday range reported for an early-September 2026 session ( Investing.com listed a session range of $440.50 to $459.77 with an open of $453.01 ).
On the entry price and its timing, the record around 9 October 2025 is well documented. CNBC reported on 8 October 2025 that AMD shares rose 11% that Wednesday, taking the week's gain to 43%, after OpenAI announced plans to buy billions of dollars of AI equipment from AMD . TechCrunch reported that AMD granted OpenAI warrants for up to 160 million shares vesting in tranches, with the last tranche dependent on AMD shares reaching $600 , and that the shares "were trading at about $165 before the news hit" . A claimed entry of $232.89 on 9 October 2025 is therefore arithmetically consistent with the post-announcement level, but I did not retrieve the official close for that date.
The thesis content in the deck is forward-looking. A Goldman Sachs analyst raised the firm's 2026 AMD target to $640 from $450 on 5 July 2026, and the same report noted that agentic AI requires significant general-purpose compute alongside accelerators, with Cantor Fitzgerald at a street-high $700 . That shows the agentic-AI-CPU narrative is present in sell-side research; it does not verify the specific chart figures reproduced in the post.
Findings
✓ What's accurate 4
- AMD rose very substantially between 9 October 2025 and early September 2026. A gain in the mid-90s to low-100s percent range from a $232.89 base is consistent with the retrieved market record as of 2026-09-04.
- $232.89 is a plausible AMD price for 9 October 2025, sitting between the pre-announcement level of about $165 and the level implied by a 43% weekly gain reported on 8 October 2025.
- The OpenAI compute deal and the associated warrant structure described in the post's slides are real and were reported by named outlets in October 2025.
- The broad thesis theme, that agentic AI increases general-purpose compute demand alongside accelerators, appears in sell-side research as of July 2026.
≈ What's misleading 6
- **Date context mismatch:** the post states "+97.35%" in the present tense with no as-of date. AMD's implied gain from the claimed entry was about +95.9% at the 3 September 2026 close and about +105.1% at the 4 September 2026 close, and it was about +151% at the 30 June 2026 high. A single frozen percentage presented as a current state is only true at one unstated moment, and the stock has since pulled back from its June high.
- **Exaggeration:** the caption claims the thesis was seen "before the market fully priced it in," but the stated entry date of 9 October 2025 falls three days after the OpenAI deal was public and after a week in which the stock had already risen 43%. The largest single re-rating event preceded the claimed entry rather than following it.
- **Survivorship bias:** the post presents "one watchlist case worth sharing," a single selected position from an undisclosed watchlist. No full list of entries, no losing entries, and no aggregate watchlist performance are shown, so the figure describes a chosen winner rather than a track record.
- **Omitted qualifier:** no benchmark is given. AMD's own move over the period, the semiconductor sector, and the broad index are all absent, so a reader cannot tell whether the result reflects selection skill or exposure to a sector-wide AI re-rating.
- **Gross vs net:** the figure is a gross paper price return on a watchlist marker. No fees, spread, slippage, position size, or tax are disclosed, and no evidence is offered that any capital was deployed at $232.89.
- **Nominal vs real:** the return is nominal and unadjusted, which is normal practice for an 11-month figure but is not stated.
? What's uncertain 5
- The official closing price of AMD on 9 October 2025 was not retrieved. The $232.89 entry is consistent with the surrounding record but unconfirmed against the exchange or company record.
- The snapshot date behind "+97.35%" is not stated anywhere in the post and could not be pinned. It does not match the closes on either 3 or 4 September 2026.
- Whether the watchlist entry was in fact logged on 9 October 2025 cannot be independently verified. The only evidence is a screenshot produced by the party making the claim.
- The regulatory status, jurisdiction and licensing of "Mark Institute" were not established. A Substack presence under that name exists, but I did not verify any registration.
- The third-party chart figures reproduced in slides 4, 5 and 6 were not traced to the original Goldman Sachs, Morgan Stanley or XTB publications.
Sources
10 of 10 linked to recordsCNBC AMD quote page (exchange-derived market data)
CNN Markets AMD quote page
Yahoo Finance AMD quote and history
Macrotrends AMD 15-year price history
CNBC, "AMD stock continues rally after OpenAI deal," 8 October 2025
TechCrunch, 7 October 2025, on the OpenAI warrant structure
Investing.com AMD historical data page
TheStreet, 7 July 2026, on Goldman Sachs raising its AMD target
AMD investor relations price history page